Discussion

Why I Moved from Blogger to WordPress

Hey everyone!

Today’s post is a bit different from my previous ones. So far, you have seen book review, book meme, interview, tag and award posts on my blog, but today I am going to be telling you the reason behind one of the major blogging decisions I took in mid-August. The decision to move.

I started my blog early in July on Blogger. Like any other newbie, I was learning about the book blogging community. I discovered memes about a week and a half after I launched my blog and from then on, I have been consistently posting them. I joined twitter and instantly came to know that I was the odd one out (along with a few others) because I chose Blogger. That didn’t bother me much at first, but as time went on and nearly a month passed, I realized that there was more to it than I gave it credit for. Since most bloggers were on WordPress, it was easier for them to follow other blogs which were also on WordPress which resulted in a steep rise in the number of followers of blogs who launched around the same time as mine. While they had near 100 followers, my blog managed a trifling 25!

This was the main reason why I decided to move my blog. I realized that it can possibly take ages for me to gather a decent number of followers on Blogger. I started researching the pros and cons of WordPress.

The pros clearly outnumbered the cons and since I didn’t plan on investing in my blog anytime soon, WordPress.com’s free plan was what I needed. I moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress on August 13 and have earned (as of 30th August) 54 followers!

Once, I started blogging on WordPress, I discovered the ease of using it and several other benefits. In order to aid those who want to undertake a similar course of action, I have decided to list out the advantages of using WordPress when compared to Blogger. It must be noted that I have blogged on Blogger for a considerable time before stepping into Book Blogging. Hence, these conclusions aren’t the product of a few days of experience.

Note: There are two sites with the name WordPress. If you don’t want to get into the hassle of hosting and all (about which I don’t know a bit, sorry!), you must go to wordpress.com not wordpress.org. Each time you read WordPress here, it means wordpress.com.

wb

1. Number of Followers and Ease of Following

Like I mentioned before, it is easier to gain a decent following on WordPress in a small amount of time because:

  1. It is the preferred platform by bloggers
  2. Because it provides two simple methods of following (By email or by WordPress account)

Although, Blogger also provides two options, it is not easy to keep count of followers. Most bloggers, me included, made another account at Feedburner for email followers. I frankly didn’t know of it and thought that each time someone followed by email, it would show on my email. It didn’t. Feedburner is really messy, here is a screenshot. Apart, from ‘Email Subscription’ option, nothing else made sense to me.

feed
Screenshot of my Feedburner account for LTWER on Blogger

WordPress on the other hand, is much easier to follow and it is easier for bloggers to keep tabs on followers.

2. Monitoring Your Stats

Stats are important for bloggers. Some publishers ask for your blog stats before sending you the review copies. They are also important when you need to know the entry point of your visitors and what exactly does you audience enjoy.

Obviously, WordPress stats are way better than Blogger’s. WP has stats categorically placed under years, months and days. It also shows you the best day and time of your posts, the links clicked by your visitors and the number of views per visitors.

Below are screenshots comparing Blogger stats to WordPress stats.

feed.png
Stats page of WordPress
feed
Stats page for Blogger

I have just shown you a section of the stats page of both so that you can get a general idea.

3. Post Preview Option

This is my favourite option. WordPress lets you preview the posts and view how they would appear on your desktop, mobile etc. This lets you format your posts so that they would be appealing to the readers on any device.

feed.png
Preview page

4. Clean Layout

Finally, WordPress is much cleaner and sophisticated than Blogger. Although, there are hundreds of themes available on the net for Blogger and you can customize your blog accordingly, it takes a lot of time. WordPress has limited themes, but they are all clean. There are some really good themes for every taste in the ‘Free’ section.

Lastly, if you wish to move your blog, you can import all your content from Blogger to WordPress. All your posts and pages will remain on your new blog. Click here to read about how to import your content. Note that you WILL lose your Blogger followers. Since, my followers weren’t that many, I didn’t face difficulty in moving. If you have a large following, it would be good if you put up a disclaimer days before on your Blogger blog asking your followers to follow you on your new site.

Hope this helps!

Whose side are you on?

4 thoughts on “Why I Moved from Blogger to WordPress”

  1. I’m on blogger. More people use WordPress and I already have a WordPress account to follow other blogs. I have considered moving but the idea of learning how another platform works is off putting. You’ve made me consider moving my blog again now. Hmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Have I? 😀 If you don’t have a large following that you fear to lose, then this step might be worth taking. WordPress is really easy to use; a few days in and you will know all that there is to know. If you need any help, don’t hesitate in contacting me, I will be happy to help 🙂

      Like

  2. I really love WordPress. I was on Blogger for quite a while and I was jealous of all the great plugins others were using (with the paid sub). So I switched. I don’t find I follow a lot of people on the WordPress platform. I used to use Bloglovin to follow my favorite blogs but now I’m using Feedly. This is my first visit, I’m glad to have found you. I’m always looking for new memes and after reading the thread at GR, I hear you have some good ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for dropping by ❤

      Yes, currently I have 3 memes per week and they are: Tell Me Something Tuesday, WWW Wednesday and Book Beginnings on Fridays. Others that I find interesting but haven't done yet are the Sunday Post and Top Ten Tuesday. I think I may replace one of the above memes. Previously I had memes for 6 days of the week, but I figured that it was too much work, so for now, I will keep it to 3 :).

      This link will help you in finding the best meme for your blog: https://bookshelffantasies.com/book-blog-meme-directory/

      Like

Leave a Reply

